Uphill. Both ways. In the snow. It’s good for the brain.

November 19, 2009 at 2:53 am 3 comments

Budget cuts to school systems nationwide have allowed educators, parents, and city planners to re-imagine otherwise taken-for-granted assumptions about certain practices and habits. In Fairfax County, VA, for example, “some members of the Board of Supervisors want the county’s schools to save money on buses by encouraging more kids to walk to school, perhaps by moving back the boundaries for bus-riding eligibility.”

I see this as a great opportunity to revive a once common practice: forty years ago, more than 4 out of every 10 students in American walked or biked to school; just five years ago, it was barely 1 in 10 (WaPo). Policies that increase rates of people-powered transportation may even improve the academic achievement of students.

Harvard professor John Ratey has written a fascinating book, titled Spark, that explores the “transformative effects of exercise on the brain.” In one chapter, he examines the physical education curriculum developed by PE4Life and employed in the Naperville School District outside of Chicago. Not only was it discovered that vigorous physical activity increase student academic achievement, but researchers have found that exercise facilitates neurogensis. Quite literally, activities like running, cycling, and even fast-paced walking (which can be done to and from school) both strengthen the connections between neurons and literally give birth to new nerve cells in the brain. “Exercise,” says Dr. Ratey, is “Miracle-Gro for the brain.”

Walking to school, then, doesn’t seem like such a bad idea—it may help to strengthen students’ bodies and prime their brains for learning.

Parents, teachers, and students may want to check out walkingschoolbus.org to learn how to develop a walking school bus in your neighborhood, and at saferoutesinfo.org, there are tips about how to find and create the safest walking or cycling routes in your community. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention also has a website dedicated to the KidsWalk-to-School program.

BONUS: Below is a video of Dr. John Ratey speaking about his book and research during an Authors@Google event.

Entry filed under: play, think. Tags: , , , , , .

DIY exercise equipment “I like grown-ups that run”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  November 19, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I always walked to school, except high school, where it was over 3 miles away. Even when I was in elementary school; I was a latch-key kid. That being said, if I missed the high school bus (in either direction), my parents made me walk home from high school also: it was a lesson in being prepared for the bus. My parents would never take me to school unless it was a doctor’s appointment that delayed me.

    This responsibility towards myself and to ‘time’ made me understand also that no one, not even my parents, was going to be at my beck-and-call. I had to arrange rides with friends or find out how to get on a suburban bus. It also made me appreciate having my own car when I got my license (which I had to buy with my own money).

    I understand that parents are concerned about childrens’ safety now, but I think there should be some statistic looked up on what percentage of children are being kidnapped by strangers. I think that this worry is causing more harm to children in terms of obesity and laziness and reliance on parents to be Taxi Service.

    Reply
  • 2. Wednesday Round Up #92 « Neuroanthropology  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    […] R. Atwood, Uphill. Both Ways. In the Snow. It’s Good for the Brain. An argument for exercise as promoting brain fitness in […]

    Reply
  • 3. links for 2009-12-05 « Fantasising Zombies  |  December 6, 2009 at 1:02 am

    […] Uphill. Both ways. In the snow. It’s good for the brain. « playthink exercise is good for the brain: […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Jason R. Atwood

I'm an avid trail runner and doctoral student at U.C. Berkeley who studies motivation and the relationship between the mind and body. This blog is a forum to share research, news, and musings about these topics of interest. More

Play is the beginning of knowledge.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 88 other followers

Twitter Feed


