Spinning Music, Mixes and Workouts

July 8, 2009 at 1:19 pm 15 comments

Spandex… Spinning… And shameless self-promotion.

I have been teaching indoor cycling/spinning classes for more than five years and am often asked for copies of my workouts and music mixes — spinningmixes.wordpress.com is intended to be a place to share this information.

In recent years, I’ve been posting a new routine every month, and recently published a new workout and music mix for the month of July. Even if you’re not into spinning (which provides a fantastic low-impact, high-intensity cardio workout in a dynamic group environment), I invite you to browse the blog, download some new music, forward the mixes to your athletic-minded friends, and to leave a comment with your own favorite “power songs.”

Power 10 Spinning!
J.R. Atwood

Entry filed under: play. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

This week’s must-reads: the psychology of randomness, basketball’s full-court press, and a reflection on the ideas of fairness and merit in education To eat or not to eat? New study provides evidence that maintaining a chronic caloric deficit improves health and extends life

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn Karma  |  August 3, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I’m excited to browse your site and get some great music downloads, ideas and workouts. I’m a spin enthusiast right now, but going to the instructor certification course the end of the month. I’m really excited to teach spin and motivate my classes through great music.

    Reply
  • 2. David Golembeski  |  October 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Great website and playlists! Our spinning instructor (the best one at Bally’s) is offering the class an opportunity to put together their own playlist. I find that having the right music, at the right time, is so important to the class. A good instructor and good music can make the difference between a great class and a so-so class. Thanks for the site.

    Reply
  • 3. Daniel Murray  |  December 12, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I have been teaching for 12 yrs.now,and to find better workouts,and being tired of downloading the music,I gave My students the opportunity to bring playlists in….Big mistake,as most have been riding more than 1/2 yrs.The prob.is that 90% of the suggested music(in order)would not flow,leaving You with the feeling that”where did that come from”,and You will be on the spot,and they will know when it gets played in the class….Instead..suggest songs that they would like to hear,and You can put the order as needed…They will appreciate it!!!!dan

    Reply
  • 4. Duncan  |  December 23, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Nice music.

    I’m a spin teacher myself after years working throughout Europe as a dj so feel free to check out the mix on my site, http://www.soulactive.co.uk.
    You’ll find all the music mixed and with bpm’s attached, so hopefully you’ll enjoy as I’ll try and post a new mix each month.

    Reply
  • 5. ANTON  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Hello,

    I was lookking at this site and i liked it.

    Nice to see how many mixes there are.

    Maybe you could take a look at my website, it is in the dutch language, but i am making my own mixes. So put mixes in a mix for the work-out training

    Click the Muziek button and you can hear 1 or 2 mixes

    Thanks

    Anton

    Reply
  • 6. Tamara Webb  |  April 27, 2011 at 5:26 am

    Thank you for your site. I need some great music downloads, ideas and workouts for Indoor Cycling. I’m a spin enthusiast right now, but going to the instructor certification course next month. I’m really excited to teach spin and motivate my classes through great music.

    Reply
  • 7. Jimbob  |  April 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Would be great if there was a single link to download the music along with the instructors voice instructing in-sync with the music …. anyone know any single links with this………..?

    Or is the link on this page and i’m blind….?

    Reply
  • 8. www.elenoize.com  |  February 21, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    Your current report provides verified useful to myself.
    It’s very educational and you’re simply certainly very educated in this region. You possess opened up my own eyes to different thoughts about this particular subject along with intriguing, notable and strong content.

    Reply
  • 9. Santos  |  February 25, 2013 at 6:31 am

    I personally was initially browsing for strategies for
    my own site and encountered your own article, “Spinning Music,
    Mixes and Workouts | playthink”, do you care in the event I
    actually employ a number of your ideas? With thanks ,
    Alan

    Reply
  • 10. Claire Suero  |  April 24, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    where do i find more workouts?

    Reply
  • 11. core training  |  May 20, 2013 at 10:16 am

    I want to learn
    more things approximately it!

    Reply
  • 12. Skin Treatments  |  July 17, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    I visited many web pages however the audio feature for audio songs current at this web site is
    actually superb.

    Reply
  • 13. red peppers  |  July 24, 2013 at 6:16 am

    Wow, this piece of writing is fastidious, my sister is analyzing these things,
    therefore I am going to let know her.

    Reply
  • 14. German  |  July 25, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet visitors,
    its really really pleasant article on building up new web site.

    Reply
  • 15. Johnk456  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:14 am

    Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views dedbckdacked

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Jason R. Atwood

I'm an avid trail runner and doctoral student at U.C. Berkeley who studies motivation and the relationship between the mind and body. This blog is a forum to share research, news, and musings about these topics of interest. More


Play is the beginning of knowledge.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 81 other followers

Twitter Feed


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

